Headon cum Upton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire
Headon St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Headon St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


HEADON, a village and a parish in East Retford district, Notts. The village stands 3 miles N of Tuxford r. station, and 4 SE of East Retford. The parish contains also the hamlets of Upton and Thorpe and bears the name of Headon-with-Upton. There is a Methodist chapel. [1]

Additional information:

Headon cum Upton St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the church and parish Headon St Peter

The Parish Church has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also St peter's Church Wikipedia

This parish should not be confused with Upton, Nottinghamshire elsewhere in the county and diocese.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
Bassetlaw
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
Retford
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667
Email:bassetlawro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Headon cum Upton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HEADON CUM UPTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Headon St Peter

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1566-1947 Marriages 1577-1897 Burials 1566-1902 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1837
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Headon cum Upton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, [http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions/entry_page.jsp?text_id=769180 Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,064 times.