Healey, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Healey, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Healey, Lancashire
Healey Christ Church contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HEALEY, a village and a chapelry in Spotland township, Rochdale parish, Lancashire. The village stands 2 miles NW of Rochdale town and r. station; and has a post office under Rochdale, a cotton mill, and a flannel mill. The chapelry was constituted in 1846.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Healey chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HEALEY CHRIST CHURCH CHAPELRY (1847) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1847-1915 1850-1930 1850-1981
FS 1847-1910 1848-1935  1850-1993
LBMD None 1850-1974 None

ROCHDALE ST CHAD(ancient parish containing HEALEY Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Healey and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Healey- Christ Church
Banns-1850-1950- MFPR 2028
Baptisms-1847-1930- MFPR 2027
Baptisms-1930-1985- Archives L289
Burials-1850-1860- MFPR 2027
Burials-1860-1995- MFPR 2028
Marriages-1851-1951- MFPR 2027
Marriages-1951-1988- Archives L289

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for Healey, Lancashire, 1847-1995 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Healey is a village and a chapelry in Spotland township, Rochdale parish.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 289.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1847-1939. Marriages, 1851-1951. Burials, 1850-May 1860.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356097 Items 4 - 10
Burials, Dec. 1859-1995. Banns, 1850-1951.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356098 Items 1 - 6




Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306934.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/21455 Date Accessed: 14 October 2013
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,335 times.