Heapey, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Heapey, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heapey, Lancashire
Heapey, St. Barnabas Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1737
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackburn
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Heapey (St Barnabas) was created a chapel of ease by 1711, lying within the boundaries of Leyland parish of the Borough of Chorley, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 2¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Chorley. Heapey contains also the township of Wheelton. Heapey Chapel was built by the year 1737. The original building was built at some point prior to 1552 and was enlarged in 1740 and 1829.[1]

The following is taken from Kelly's Directory of Lancashire for 1924:

"Heapey is a township and with part of Wheelton constitutes an ecclesiastical parish, formed out of the ancient parish of Leyland, near the high road from Chorley to Blackburn, 8½ miles south-west from Blackburn, and 9 miles (14 km) south-east from Preston, it is in the Chorley division of the county, hundred of Leyland, petty sessional division of Leyland hundred, union and county court district of Chorley, rural deanery of Leyland, archdeaconry of Blackburn and diocese of Manchester. The Leeds and Liverpool Canal passes on the west. The church of St. Barnabas, standing on an eminence and erected previously in 1552, was enlarged in 1740, 1829 and 1867; it now consists of chancel, nave and transepts; the church was restored in 1876 and 1898: there are 600 sittings. The register dates from the year 1833, all entries prior to that date being registered at Leyland. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £330, including glebe and residence, in the gift of the vicar of Leyland, and held since 1910 by the Reverend David Smith Bennard, B.A., of London University. Lady Sinclair, the trustees of Mrs. Paulet and Mrs. Sumner Mayhew are the principal landowners. The soil is of a mixed nature, partly light and clayey; subsoil, stone. The land is chiefly in pasture. The area is 1,466 acres (6 km2), of which 31 acres (130,000 m2) are water; rateable value £6,330; the population of the township in 1921 was 515, and of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911 2,405. Sexton Edward Hunt"

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Heapey chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Leyland to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


HEAPEY Chapelry (1734) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1734-1799 None None
LOPC 1737-1812 1741-1746 None
LBMD None None None
LEYLAND ST ANDREW'S(ancient parish containing HEAPEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1622-1900 1622-1900 1814-1852
LOPC 1711-1899 1711-1837 1711-1903
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-1991 1837-1974
FMP None 1622-1837 None 
AC 1653-1710 1653-1710 1653-1710


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Heapey and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leyland to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEYLAND ST ANDREW PARISH page.

Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306912.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53014 British History online Heapey

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 456-459.Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,768 times.