Heard County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Heard County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Heard County

Guide to Heard County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Heard County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Heard County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 22, 1830
County Seat Franklin
Address Heard County Courthouse
PO Box 40
Franklin, GA 30217-0040
Phone: 770.675.3821
Heard County Website


County Courthouse

Heard County Courthouse
PO Box 40
Franklin, GA 30217-0040
Phone: 770.675.3821

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927 along with marriage and probate records from 1894.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
215 E. Court St.
P.O. Box 249
Franklin, GA 30217
Telephone: (706) 675-3301
Fax: (706) 675-6138

Probate Court of Heard County
P.O. Box 478
215 E. Court Sq., Room 3
Franklin, GA 30217
Telephone: 706-675-3353
Fax: 706-675-0819

Beginning Dates for Heard County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1830--Heard County was created 22 December 1830 from Carroll and Coweta and Troup Counties.
 County seat:  Franklin [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1839, and 1894. The courthouse at Franklin burned twice: first on 14 April 1839, and second on 10 March 1894. The two fires destroyed about 70 years of county records.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Carroll County  • Chambers County  • Coweta County  • Randolph County  • Troup County

Heard CountyTroup CountyMeriwether CountyPike CountySpalding CountyCoweta CountyFayette CountyClayton CountyFulton CountyCobb CountyDouglas CountyCarroll CountyHaralson CountyCalhoun CountyTalladega CountyCleburne CountyRandolph CountyClay CountyTallapoosa CountyChambers CountyGAHeard.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Mailing Lists
  • GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Heard County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Heard County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Heard County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project  (other war's information is also given)

  • Heard County Historical Society. 1991. History of Heard County, Georgia, 1830-1990. Dallas, Tex: Curtis Media Corp. (page 104-105)  975.8422 H2h



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Heard County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1894-1965 - Heard County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. 1-2) at SamPubCo - free.
  • 1894-1900 - Wills 1894-1900 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1894-1930 - Index to Will Book I, 1894-1930 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1894-1920 - Index to Inventories and Appraisements, 1894-1920 Georgia Pioneers $


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1886-1920 - Heard County Marriage Index 1886-1920. Batch M713051 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Heard County Historical Society
P.O. Box 990
Franklin, GA 30217

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Heard County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 37. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 21:02.
  • This page has been accessed 12,982 times.