Heathfield, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Heathfield, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hawkesborough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hailsham PLU
Registration District Hailsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEATHFIELD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Hailsham, hundred of Hawkesborough, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 9 miles (E. S. E.) from Uckfield; There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]


Heathfield All Saints is an Ancient Parish and market town in the Wealden district of East Sussex which included Heathfield Common, Punnetts Town, Cade Street, Street End, and Runtington. The original village of Old Heathfield has been absorbed into the town.

From the Ancient Parish the following were formed:

Heathfield St Richard

Heathfield St George Broad Oak

For history of all 3 churches Heathfield parishes

The parish church of All Saints Church Street Heathfield has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Heathfield Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Heathfield East Sussex Wikipedia

St Richard Heathfield was formed in 1915 from this parish

In 1886 the Gilbert Memorial Independent Baptist Chapel (now known as the Welcome Evangelical Baptist Church Heathfield) was opened.

The Union Church High Street Heathfield opened in 1899-1900 and is now a Baptist/Congregational Church.

St Catherine (Roman Catholic) Heathfield is part of the Parish of Burwash in Rother District and dates from 1953.

King's Church is an Evangelical church in Heathfield.

a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Heathfield, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
Heathfield, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC Undefined

Undefined
TGEN
1584-1740


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Heathfield

Aliases - Morris alias Horshall of Ashburnham.  Two families with the same surname in the same area may not be related.  Using parish registers from Ashburnham and Heathfield, three pedigree charts have been assembled.  Surnames are Morris, Andrews, Martin, Colebrand, Levett, Vanier, Eastland, Horshall, Bramley, Wood, Weeks.  Years covered 1543-1801.  Article to be found in Sussex Family Historian, Vol. #7. Dec. 1974 pages 188-191, and is held at the Family History Library, Ref. 942.25 B2su

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Hailsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 459-462. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,266 times.