Hebburn, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hebron, Northumberland)

England  Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Hebburn, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hebburn, Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Morpeth PLU
Registration District Morpeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1725; For more records see Bothal
Bishop's Transcripts: 1773
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEBBURN, a chapelry or parish, in the union of Morpeth, W. division of Morpeth ward, N. division of Northumberland; The chapel or church, which is subordinate to thechurch of Bothal, was rebuilt in 1793, Hebburn St Cuthbert ( Hepburn or Hebron) was a chapelry in Bothal Ancient Parish and includes: Causey Park, Cockle Park, Earsdon, Earsdon Forest, and Fenrother.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Hebburn, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HEBBURN CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

FS 1679-1812 1680-1896 None

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/131 Date: 1773-1842  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Hebburn, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1680-1900, marriages 1680-1984 and burials 1680-1914 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1773-1842 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1680-1812 and marriages 1680-1812 for this parish and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1680-1812 and banns 1751-1812. A transcript is available at Gateshead Central Library, Local Studies Dept. covering baptisms, marriages and burials 1680-1812. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Hebron (microfiche TN77) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Poor Law Unions

Morpeth Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,447 times.