Heddon on the Wall, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Heddon on the Wall, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heddon on the Wall, Northumberland
Church of St Andrew, Heddon on the Wall Northumberland.jpg
Church of St Andrew, Heddon on the Wall Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle; Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1656
Bishop's Transcripts: 1727
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEDDON-ON-THE-WALL (St. Philip and St. James), a parish, in the union, and partly in the W. division, of Castle ward, but chiefly in the E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Eachwick, Heddon-on-the-Wall, East and West Heddon, Houghton with Closehouse, and Whitchester; The parish is situated on the road from Newcastle to Hexham and Carlisle, and is bounded on the south by the river Tyne. The church, which belonged to Blanchland Abbey, is an ancient structure.[1]

Additional information:

HEDDON, EAST, a township, in the parish of Heddon-on-the-Wall, union, and W. division, of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 8 miles (N. W. by W.) from Newcastle; containing 42 inhabitants. It is situated about a mile to the north of the road from Newcastle to Harlow Hill, and comprises 842 acres of land. The vicarial tithes have been commuted for £12. On a farm called Heddon Laws, are some remarkable tumuli.

Heddon on the Wall St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland and includes: Eachwick,East Heddon, Houghton and Closehouse, West Heddon, and Whitchester.

The modern parish of St Andrew Heddon-on-the-Wall is in the Corbridge deanery of the diocese of Newcastle.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/132 Date: April 1727-March [1728], 1762-1848 Related materials (elsewhere): A 1727 transcript survives among the Durham Cathedral Muniments (ref DCD/D/AB/6). Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Heddon-On-The-Wall, St Andrew: Records of baptisms 1656-1959, marriages 1659-1978 and burials 1654-1968 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1727-1728, 1762-1848 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1664-1875 and marriages 1664-1856 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Heddon (microfiche TN80) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Newcastle West W.M. Circuit. Records for 1788-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service, Tyne and Wear Archives Service and are included on the IGI (listed as Brunswick Place or Orphan House).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438895.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/heddon-on-the-wall-st-andrew/ for information about the parish

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heddon-on-the-Wall for history of the parish church and dedicatory names

http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/heddon-on-the-wall-hadrians-wall/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:39.
  • This page has been accessed 886 times.