Hedmark County, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hedmark County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Hedmark makes up the northeastern part of Østlandet, the southeastern part of the country. It includes a long part of the borderline with Sweden, Dalarna County and Värmland County. Geographically, Hedmark is in the traditional sense divided in the following areas: Hedemarken, east of Mjøsa, Østerdalen, north of Elverum, and Glåmdalen, south of Elverum. Hedmark and Oppland are the only Norwegian counties with no coastline. Hedmark also hosted some of the 1994 Winter Olympic Games.
Hedmark is one of the less urbanized areas in Norway, as about half of the inhabitants live on rural land. Population is mainly concentrated in the rich agricultural district adjoining Mjøsa to the southeast. The county's extensive forests supply much of Norway's timber. Logs were previously floated down Glomma to the coast but are now transported by truck and train.
Family History Resources
Government Offices and Sites
Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Hedmark County
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 23:23.
- This page has been accessed 22,037 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More