Heigham, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Norwich PLU|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
HEIGHAM, or Higham, a parish Norwich district, Norfolk; in the W side of Norwich city. 
Heigham St Bartholomew is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
Only the tower remains after substantial damage by German bombing in 1942. Heigham lies just outside the city walls of Norwich and along with other medieval church of Norwich St Benedict, Norfolk and subsequent bombing victims in the city.
The parish is large and subsequent church building of Heigham St Philip, Norfolk Heigham St Thomas, Norfolk Heigham Most Holy Trinity, Norfolk Heigham St Barnabas, Norfolk were designed to meet the needs of the population of the city within the Ancient parish boundaries.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Heigham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Heigham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 470 many of the records were destroyed in the 27 April 1942 "Baedecker" raid bombing of Norwich St Benedict area and and Heigham.
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts. Transcripts are the major surviving record source for the parish.
| Baptisms and burials 1726-1812 Marriages 1726-1811
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526813 Item 10
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Parker, A.J. The Persistence of an Uncommon Christian Name. History and Family tree of John Parker, Billinghay, Lincs. with the first name Hepzibah showing up many times on the tree. Also surnames Parker, Eastwood, Sharman, Anthony, Bartis, Charlwood, Grigson, and Wilson.Tree dated from 1794-1902, with movements of the family from Billinghay, Frampton, Lincs, Wisbech, Cambridgshire, Walsoken, NFK, St. Peter Mancroft, with a branch going to Melbourne, Australia. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, Old Series vol.1, pt. 10, pages 132-133, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j, vol. 1. pt. 10.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Heigham on GenUKI
- Raids George Plunkett Historical Photography
- Photos of Heigham Church
- History of Heigham
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
- This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 14:30.
- This page has been accessed 6,493 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News