Help:Historical Population ChartEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|
This help article will guide you as you edit in the Wiki. See Contributor Help for more help articles. Visit the Wiki Help Forum as you have questions.
|
HISTORICAL POPULATION CHART CODE
{{Historical populations
|type = USA
|heading = Census
|footnote = Source: [http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en "American FactFinder".] United States Census Bureau.
|1800 |xxxx
|1810 |xxxx
|1820 |xxxx
|1830 |xxxx
|1840 |xxxx
|1850 |xxxx
|1860 |xxxx
|1870 |xxxx
|1880 |xxxx
|1890 |xxxx
|1900 |xxxx
|1910 |xxxx
|1920 |xxxx
|1930 |xxxx
|1940 |xxxx
|1950 |xxxx
|1960 |xxxx
|1970 |xxxx
|1980 |xxxx
|1990 |xxxx
|2000 |xxxx
}}
INSTRUCTIONS FOR EDITING THE CODE
The easiest way edit this code is to copy and paste it into a word processing software and edit all the census data there, and then paste the completed document on to your Wiki page.
The first number on each line represents the census year (1800, 1810, 1820, etc). The "xxxx" represents the population number for that census (usually a 3-6 digit number WITHOUT commas). The percent of increase/decrease will be calculated automatically when the chart is embedded on the Wiki page.
The population numbers go immediately after the second pipe, with no space, example:
1890 |791
1900 |1043
Retrieve the census populations.
- Up to 1990 is available at WeRelate on the corresponding county
- The 2000 data can be found on Wikipedia on the corresponding county page in the first sentence of the Demographics section.
- http://www.wikipedia.org/
- Delete years that census records do not exist for that county.
INSTRUCTIONS FOR INSERTING THE CHART INTO YOUR PAGE
- If there is not a heading for Census, create one. Click to edit the heading that would be just below “Census” alphabetically.
- Once the edit screen opens, click on “Wikitext” on the top left corner of your edit menu.
- Create a blank line at the very top of the edit box and type in
==== Census ==== (be sure to put spaces before the “C” and after the “s”)
- On the line immediately following that, paste in your Hist/Pop box code.
- Preview your page to be sure you have it inserted properly.
- If you need to make any changes, you will have to click on the “Wikitext” setting on the top left corner of your edit menu again.
- When your previewed changes look the way you want them to, then save your page. Always leave your Hist/Pop Chart as the beginning information in the Census topic.
| ||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||
- This page was last modified on 19 November 2012, at 07:25.
- This page has been accessed 386 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
