Help:Reverting Content to Previous VersionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. It's a good idea to give your reasons on the Talk Page and explain what you are going to do. You might also contact those contributors and discuss it with them directly. Then, let some time go by, giving others a chance to reply to your ideas. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand, thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a "revert war".


Also, consider the Three-revert rule [1] if doing extensive editing.


When you are ready to revert, do the following:

  • Step 1 Navigate to the article that you wish to revert.
  • Step 2 Go to its History page and do one of the following.
  • Step 2.1 Find the latest preferred version and click on the date. The article will be rolled back, and that version should now open in the Edit Window.
  • Step 2.2 Find the latest preferred version and click on Prev. When the two versions show up , click on the Edit tab at the top of the column on the left. This will open up the good version in the Edit Window.
  • Step 3 At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the Summary. Then Click on the Save page button.


  1. Do not revert any page or any part of a page more than 3 times in 24 hours. Doing so may lead to action being taken against your account by an administrator.
  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 17:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,880 times.