Hemel Hempstead, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Hemel Hempstead or Hempstead, Hemel (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, is in the hundred of Dacorum, county of Hertford; containing the chapelries of Bovingdon and Flaunden. It is 19 1/2 miles (W. by S.) from Hertford, and 23 miles (N.W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hemel Hempstead St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
HEMEL HEMPSTEAD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1877-1913
1881-1906

BOYD
1558-1837

FMP 1566-1910 1566-1910 1558-1928 1558-1928 1558-1944 1558-1944
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1566-1875 1558-1881
JOIN
1516-1837

NBI

1800-1851
PRTS
1558-1837

Hemel Hempstead St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Hemel Hempstead St Paul Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1878-1910 1878-1910 1878-1928 1878-1928


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288829.

1524/5 Subsidy
  • 1524/5 Lay Subsidy (E179/120/122 rolls 2 and 4) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228679.
1626 Subsidy
  • 1626 Lay Subsidy (E179/121/329 membrane 2) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228680.
1628 Subsidies

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hemel Hempstead on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 902 times.