Hemingbrough, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hemingbrough

Guide to Hemingbrough, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hemingbrough, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ouse and Derwent
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Howden PLU
Registration District Howden; Selby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1605
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Durham within the Jurisdiction of Howden and Howdenshire
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEMINGBROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, partly in the union of Howden, and partly in that of Selby, wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, E. riding of York; containing the chapelries of Barlby, and Cliff with Lund, and the townships of Brackenholme with Woodhall, South Duffield, Menthorpe with Bowthorpe, and Osgodby, 4¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Selby. Church of England records began in 1605. There is a chapel at Barlby, erected in 1777, by subscription; and at Hemingbrough, Cliff, and South Duffield are places of worship for dissenters. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Hemingbrough exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org - free
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
HEMINGBROUGH PARISH (1505) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1813-1886 1813-1886 1605-1901 1605-1901 1605-1837 1605-1837
FS 1605-1886

1605-1886

None

NBI

1781-1837
List of Chapelry's in this Parish


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Hemingbrough to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HEMINGBROUGH PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464223.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 470-474. Date Accessed: October 31, 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 6 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,986 times.