Heminton with Hardington, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Heminton with Hardington, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kilmersdon
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Frome PLU
Registration District Frome
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for Hardington beginning 1756
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEMINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Frome, hundred of Kilmersdon, E. division of Somerset, 5¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Frome. It was created about 1748 from Hemington Ancient Parish and Hardington Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Falkland, Rowe, Hevington, and Hardington.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Heminton with Hardington, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Heminton with Hardington, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1539-1913
1539-1837
1539-1913
NBI

1774-1902


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474600.

Poor Law Unions

Frome Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 20 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 July 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,243 times.