Henbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

See Henbury St Thomas, Henbury cum Pexall, Cheshire

Guide to Henbury, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Henbury, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1892
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HENBURY, is a township and a chapelry in Prestbury parish, Cheshire. The township lies 2 miles W of Macclesfield railway station; it includes the hamlet of Pexhall; and bears the name of Henbury-with-Pexhall. The chapelry extends beyond the township, includes part of the borough of Macclesfield, and was constituted in 1845. Post town, is Macclesfield. The church was built in 1845; there is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Henbury St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Henbury St Thomas Parish (1813) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1845-1871




FS PR's 1813-1909
  NONE
1869-1934
  NONE
1846-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1892-1904
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1892-1904
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Henbruy parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office no.: P253/1.

Parish registers for St. Thomas, Henbury, Cheshire, 1845-1981 Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1845-1871.
1656723 Item 7
Baptisms, 1871-1956. Marriages, 1869-1955.
2106997 Items 12 - 14
Burials, 1845-1956. Register of graves, 1907-1981.
2106998 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 107

Bishop's transcripts for Henbury, 1892-1904 Film
Baptisms, burials, 1892-1893, burials, 1894-1895, baptisms, 1894-1897, burials, 1896-1899, baptisms, 1898-1902, burials, 1901-1902, baptisms, 1902-1904, burials, 1903-1904. 1647431 Item 3
Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837-1998)
  • Cheshire East (1998-2007)

Poor Law Uniions

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Henbury on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,416 times.