Henbury, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Henbury, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Henbury, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley; Henbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Clifton; Thornbury PLU
Registration District Clifton; Thornbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582; Separate registers exist for Aust beginning 1538 and also for Redwick and Northwick beginning 1667
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669; Separate records exist for Aust beginning 1813 and also for Redwick and Northwick beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HENBURY (St. Mary), a parish, in the unions of Clifton and Thornbury, partly in the Lower division of the hundred of Berkeley, and partly in the Lower and Upper divisions of the hundred of Henbury, W.division of the county of Gloucester, 4¼ miles (N.N. W.) from Bristol; containing the chapelry of Aust, and the tythings of Charlton, Compton, King'sWeston, and Lawrence-Weston. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Henbury, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
HENBURY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1544-1812

FREG 1544-1812
JOIN
1544-1812

PALL
1790-1812

NORTHWICK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1874 1832-1856

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288771.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 474-478. Date accessed: 05 March 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 23:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,361 times.