Henderson County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Henderson County

Guide to Henderson County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Henderson County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Henderson County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 20, 1841
County Seat Oquawka
Courthouse
Henderson County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Henderson County Courthouse
P.O. Box 308
Oquawka, Illinois 61469
309-867-2911

Contents

County Organization

Henderson County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Henderson County Records

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1841
1878
1850
1818
1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Henderson County are kept, see the Henderson County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Large numbers of Kentuckians settled in frontier Henderson County, Illinois. The name of the county (Henderson) is reminiscent of Henderson County, Kentucky - the previous residence of many pioneer settlers.[1]

Parent County

  • 1841--Henderson County was created 20 January 1841 from Warren County. County seat: Oquawka [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

  • Lost census: 1890

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Henderson County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Henderson County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Published Records


Online Gravestone Transcriptions

  • Henderson County ILGenWeb. Click the Cemeteries tab to access a listing of Henderson County Cemeteries. The administrator is adding maps, transcriptions, and photos as time permits.
  • Find A Grave.com has burial information for over 40 Henderson County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.


Cemetery Gazetters

  • Epodunk has a list of Henderson County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190010,836
19109,724−10.3%
19209,7700.5%
19308,778−10.2%
19408,9491.9%
19508,416−6.0%
19608,237−2.1%
19708,4512.6%
19809,1147.8%
19908,096−11.2%
20008,2131.4%
IL Counties 1900-1990


















Church Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.

Court Records

Abstracts

  • 1841–1853 Warren County, Illinois Genealogical Society. Early court commissioner's records of Henderson County, IL: 1841-1853. [S.l.]: Warren County, Illinois Genealogical Society, 1992. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online FHL book 977.3413 P2w

Copies of original records

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources or the Family History Library.

Online Resources

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Henderson County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Local Histories

  • History of Mercer and Henderson Counties Together with Biographical Matter, Statistics, Etc. Chicago, Illinois: H.H. Hill and Company, 1882. FHL fiche 6071026; digital versions at Ancestry ($), and Internet Archive (free)

Maps

Ilhenderson.jpg

Military

Civil War

  • Civil War service men from Henderson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Henderson County.
- 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E and G.
- 16th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 65th Reigment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 84th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies G and K.
- 91st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and C.
- 118th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 138th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D.


  • Despite the destruction of the 1890 Federal Census, a few 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for Henderson County survived. They are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.

Newspapers and Obituaries

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Burlington, Iowa newspapers dating back to the mid 1800's that may have included Henderson County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Henderson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • 1841–1939 Probate records, wills, administratiors' records, executors' records, guardianship records, and widows relinquishment records for Henderson County probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Henderson County, and select the record type you are interested in.

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Henderson County probates may be found in the Illinois, Henderson – Probate topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Henderson County are kept, see the Henderson County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Henderson County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Henderson County.

Public Libraries

Henderson County Public Library District
110 Hill Crest Drive
Biggsville, IL 61418
Tel: 309-627-2830
Fax: 309-627-2830
Email: hcp161418@hotmail.com

Social Groups Online

Henderson County Genealogical Society
110 Hill Crest Drive
Biggsville, IL 61418
Email: hencogen@hotmail.com

The Henderson County Genealogical Society meets in the Henderson County Public Library in Biggsville.

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Henderson County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Henderson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Copies of Original Birth Records

Online Resources

Marriages

Copies of original Marriage Records

Online Resources

Deaths

Copies of Original Death Records

Online Resources

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Henderson County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Henderson – Vital Records and the Illinois, Henderson – Vital Records - indexes topic page topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Web Sites

References

  1. Hardin County Fact Sheet, Illinois State Archives, accessed May 28, 2011.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 194. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:11.
  • This page has been accessed 17,943 times.