Henderson County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Henderson County
Guide to Henderson County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. Located in the Western Coal Fields region.
| Henderson County, Kentucky | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 21, 1798 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Henderson | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Henderson County Kentucky Courthouse
| | |||||
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Census | Deeds | Wills |
| 1852 | 1798 | 1852 | 1810 | 1797 | 1799 |
| | |||||
Henderson County Courthouse
232 1st St; PO Box 374
Henderson, KY 42420-3146
Phone: 270.827.5671[1]
Henderson County Kentucky History
Parent County
1798--Henderson County was created 21 December 1798 from Christian County.
County seat: Henderson [2]
Boundary Changes
County Pronunciation
Record Loss
Henderson County Kentucky Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Anthoston | Corydon | Henderson | Scuffletown |
| Baskett | Dixie | Jonesburg | Smith Mills |
| Beals | Euterpe | Niagara | Spottsville |
| Bluff City | Finley Addition | Rankin | Tunnel Hill |
| Cairo | Geneva | Reed | Weaverton |
| Carlinburg | Graham Hill | Robards | Wilson |
| Coraville | Hebbardsville | Rock Springs |
Neighboring Counties
- Daviess
- McLean
- Posey County, Indiana
- Union
- Vanderburgh County, Indiana
- Warrick County, Indiana
- Webster
Henderson County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
African American Research
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- the KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
Biographies
- KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
Cemeteries
Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Henderson Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The KY Historical Society’s Cemetery Database
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Henderson County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- TheFamily History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Henderson County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Henderson County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1800 | 1,468 | ||
| 1810 | 4,703 | 220.4% | |
| 1820 | 5,714 | 21.5% | |
| 1830 | 6,659 | 16.5% | |
| 1840 | 9,548 | 43.4% | |
| 1850 | 12,171 | 27.5% | |
| 1860 | 14,262 | 17.2% | |
| 1870 | 18,457 | 29.4% | |
| 1880 | 24,515 | 32.8% | |
| 1890 | 29,536 | 20.5% | |
| 1900 | 32,907 | 11.4% | |
| 1910 | 29,352 | −10.8% | |
| 1920 | 27,609 | −5.9% | |
| 1930 | 26,295 | −4.8% | |
| 1940 | 27,020 | 2.8% | |
| 1950 | 30,715 | 13.7% | |
| 1960 | 33,519 | 9.1% | |
| 1970 | 36,031 | 7.5% | |
| 1980 | 40,849 | 13.4% | |
| 1990 | 43,044 | 5.4% | |
| 2000 | 44,829 | 4.1% | |
| Est. 2006 | 45,666 | 1.9% | |
| http://ksdc.louisville.edu/sdc/rankings/rankcounties_pop.htm | |||
For tips on accessing Henderson County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in the Diocese of Lexington
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
Court
- Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
- Moody, Shirley C. Kith and Kin of Henderson County, Kentucky and Their Descendants. 6 vols. Evansville, Ind.: S. Moody, 1991. FHL Film 1597933 Items 1-6
Bibliography
- [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp
- [Bethell] Bethell, John Pinckney. Some Descendants of James Bethell, Who Came from England to Jamestown, Virginia in 1625 ... and of Union Bethell, 1826-1907, of Newburg, Indiana to Henderson County, Kentucky. Des Arc, Ark.: Bethell, 1975. FHL Film 928178 Item 13
- [Crowley] Crowley, Ariel L. Benjamin Harrison Crowley of Henderson, Kentucky, an Account of His Maternal Ancestry. Typescript. 1969. FHL Book 929.273 C886cr; Supplement: FHL Book 929.273 C886cr supp.
- [Hart] Smith, Zachary F. and Mary Rogers Clay. The Clay Family. Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton and Company, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- [Jones] Jones, Otey Sherman. The History of the Jones Family of Henderson, Kentucky. St. Louis, Mo.: O.S. Jones, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 J71jos
- [Tippin] Tippin, James Jackson. English Tipping Ancestry of Sanford Lathadeus Tippin Family of Henderson Co., Kentucky (U.S.A.). Typescript. 1900 (?). FHL Fiche 6018262
- [Tippin] Tippin, James Jackson. Ancestry of Sanford Lathadeus Tippin Family of Henderson County, Kentucky. Shreveport, La.: J.J. Tippin, 1940. FHL Film 1405352
Land
Local Histories
- ~ The Archives of Appalachia
- Starling, Edmund Lyne. History of Henderson County, Kentucky. Henderson, Ky.: n.p., 1887. Digital version at Kentuckiana Digital Library.
Maps
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Henderson County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Henderson County, Kentucky:
- - 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company L.
Miscellaneous
- Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
Probate
- 1799-1946 - Will Books A to H (1799-1946) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
- 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Henderson County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[4] digitized by Ancestry ($).
Vital Records
Birth
- 1852-1859 - Henderson County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517481 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1874 - Henderson County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517482 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1875-1876 - Henderson County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517483 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
- 1852-1861 - Henderson County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch M517481 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1875 - Henderson County Birth Index 1875. Batch M517484 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1876-1878 - Henderson County Birth Index 1876-1878. Batch M517485 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Unsorted
County Clerk has birth and death records 1911-1949[1]
- The Kentucky Vital Records Project Transcriptions of and Images of KY Death Certificates - A Work in Progress ~ The KY Vital Records Project
- KY Births & Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
- KY Deaths & Burials ~ KY Deaths & Burials 1843 - 1970
- KY Marriage Records ~ KY Marriages 1783 - 1979 ~ Family Search
- Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths & Marriages
- Kentucky Marriage Records 1973 - 2000 ~ Kentucky Marriage Records - 1973 - 2000
- KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases
- The Social Security Death Index The Social Security Death Index - Searchable
Henderson County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Henderson County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- Henderson County KYGenWeb
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- The USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Henderson County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Henderson County Kentucky Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henderson County, Kentucky page 271, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
- ↑ G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 March 2013, at 22:30.
- This page has been accessed 3,117 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


