Hendford, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Hendford, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hendford, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil PLU
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hendford is part of Yeovil and was created as a district church from Yeovil, Somerset. The foundation-stone of a district church was laid at Hendford on June 23rd, 1843; it was consecrated in Oct. 1846, and the district, consisting of half the town then became an ecclesiastical parish. In the hamlets of Kingston, Marsh, and Hendford were ancient chapels, dependent on the mother church, in which the inhabitants of those villages had a right of sepulture; the places appropriated for that purpose are still pointed out in the parish church.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474603.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 16:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,392 times.