Hendon St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Hendon St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hendon St Mary, Middlesex
Middlesexhendon.jpg
Middlesex Hendon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gore
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hendon PLU
Registration District Hendon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The church may date back to the Anglo-Saxon period. A charter of 959, possibly forged, records theparish as being in the possession of Westminster Abbey, and a priest is mentioned in 1086 in the Domesday Book probably implying a church. There are also probable Anglo-Saxon burials. The first definite date is the church built around 1080, and a Norman font (pictured right) is still in use.[1]

HENDON St. Mary [1653], a[ncient] parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Gore, county of Middlesex, 7 miles northwest of London.

Within the parish boundary were the following chapelries, including--

All Saints, Child's Hill - 1857 Christ Church, Brent Street - 1881 St John's, Algernon Road - 1896 * St Mary's, Church End – 1653 St Paul's, Mill Hill - 1836 St Peter's, Cricklewood Lance, Cricklewood - 1892

There were also chapels for worship for Independents and Wesleyan Methodists.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hendon Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1653
1653
1653
Images
1653-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
Indexes 1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1630
1776-1800
BritishOrigins[5] 1786-1812 BritishOrigins[6]
    1813-1815
1831-1837
Ancestry[7] 1813-1952 Ancestry[8]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia-the Free Encyclopedia.Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. 1. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Hemley - Hendon," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 474-478. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 27 April 2010). 2. P.B.Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral research in London" (2012) BYU Printing Services
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Hendon in Barnet Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hendon St Mary in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  6. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hendon St Mary in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.


  1. Wikipedia-the Free Encyclopedia.Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. 1. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Hemley - Hendon," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 474-478. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 27 April 2010). 2. P.B.Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral research in London" (2012) BYU Printing Services
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Hendon in Barnet Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hendon St Mary in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  6. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hendon St Mary in Barnet Borough. Partially indexed.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 3,242 times.