Hennepin County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Hennepin County

Guide to Hennepin County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Hennepin County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Hennepin County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1852
County Seat Minneapolis
Courthouse
Address Hennepin County Courthouse
300 S 6th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487-0001
Phone: 612.348.8241
Hennepin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Clerk District Courth has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage, divorce and court records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1852--Hennepin County was created 6 March 1852 from Dakota County. County seat: Minneapolis [2]
  • For a brief history of how Hennepin County was named, click here. Then select Hennepin County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Bloomington | Brooklyn Center | Brooklyn Park | Champlin | Chanhassen | Corcoran | Crystal | Dayton | Deephaven | Eden Prairie | Edina | Excelsior | Golden Valley | Greenfield | Greenwood | Hanover | Hopkins | Independence | Long Lake | Loretto | Maple Grove | Maple Plain | Medicine Lake | Medina | Minneapolis | Minnetonka | Minnetonka Beach | Minnetrista | Mound | New Hope | Orono | Osseo | Plymouth | Richfield | Robbinsdale | Rockford  | Rogers | Shorewood | Spring Park | St. Anthony Village | St. Bonifacius | St. Louis Park | Tonka Bay | Wayzata | Woodland

Townships

Hassan Township

Unincorporated

Fort Snelling

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries


Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Minneapolis
Lutheran

Bethany Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of the Bethany Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of the Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Gethsemane Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of Gethsemane Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Immanuel Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of the Immanuel Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Liberty Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of Liberty Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court

Directories

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Hennepin – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hennepin County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnhennepin.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Hennepin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Hennepin County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company A.
- 1st Battalion, Minnesota Infantry Volunteers, Company B.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies G and I.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B, C, and D.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and K.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies B and C.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A, B, C and E.
- 1st Minnesota Company Sharpshooters, First Company only

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hennepin County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Newspaper Links - Minnesota Historical Society
  • Chronicling America (Library of Congress) This freely accessible website, available from any Internet connection, hosts historic newspapers (1860-1922) from across the United States for noncommercial, educational and research purposes. Currently the following Minnesota titles are available on Chronicling America, with more to follow:

The appeal .  (Saint Paul, Minn.) 1889-19?? African-American newspaper. More than 1,500 issues between 1889 and 1922 have been digitized and are fully searchable on-line at the Library of Congress, Chronicling America website.

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hennepin County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 15,874 times.