Henry County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Henry County
Guide to Henry County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Henry County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 13, 1819 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Abbeville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Henry County Courthouse 101 West Court Square Abbeville, AL 36310 Phone: (334) 585-2753 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has marriage records from 1821
land records from 1824,
birth records 1895-1906 and probate from 1839[1]
History
Parent County
1819--Henry County was created 13 December 1819 from Conecuh County.
County seat: Abbeville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Biography
Biographies of many notable residents of Henry County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 1072.
Cemeteries
- Dothan City Cemetery, Dothan BillionGraves
- Hutto Family Cemetery, Henry County, Alabama. 1956. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- Scott, Marvin. Tomb Inscriptions and Obituary Notices of Henry County, Alabama. Climax, Ga., 1958. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Additional Henry County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Henry County, Alabama | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 2,638 | — |
| 1830 | 4,020 | 52.4% |
| 1840 | 5,787 | 44.0% |
| 1850 | 9,019 | 55.8% |
| 1860 | 14,918 | 65.4% |
| 1870 | 14,191 | −4.9% |
| 1880 | 18,761 | 32.2% |
| 1890 | 24,847 | 32.4% |
| 1900 | 36,147 | 45.5% |
| 1910 | 20,943 | −42.1% |
| 1920 | 21,547 | 2.9% |
| 1930 | 22,820 | 5.9% |
| 1940 | 21,912 | −4.0% |
| 1950 | 18,674 | −14.8% |
| 1960 | 15,286 | −18.1% |
| 1970 | 13,254 | −13.3% |
| 1980 | 15,302 | 15.5% |
| 1990 | 15,374 | 0.5% |
| 2000 | 16,310 | 6.1% |
| 2010 | 17,302 | 6.1% |
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Henry County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Henry County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.131 E7b.
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Henry County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Henry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Henry County.
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Henry Grays"
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Columbia Blues" [subsequently, Company A]
- - 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- - 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Autauga Guards"
- - 37th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, E and H
- - 39th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and G
- - 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- - 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- - 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F and K
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
- 1959 - Indiana Progress (Abbeville, Ala.) at Ancestry ($).
Probate Records
- 1830-1976 - Henry County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Henry County is in District 1.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1821-1864, 1868-1872, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1821-1864, 1868-1872, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1821–1856; 1868–1871 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1821–1856; 1868–1871 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1822-1928 - Henry County Marriage Books C-P Index 1822-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Henry County has two books:
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Enterprise Public Library
101 E. Grubbs St.
Enterprise, Alabama 36330
Telephone: 334-347-2636
Family History Center
Dothan Alabama
3199 Ross Clark Cir NW
Dothan, Dale/Houston/Henry/Geneva, Alabama, United States
Phone: 334-793-7425
Henry County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Henry County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Henry County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County p. 37. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:41.
- This page has been accessed 2,205 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
