Henry County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Henry County

Guide to Henry County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Henry County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Henry County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 13, 1825
County Seat Cambridge
Courthouse
Henry County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Henry County Courthouse
100 S. Main
Cambridge, Illinois 61238
309-937-3481
Henry County Website

Contents

County Organization

Henry County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Henry County Records

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1837
1877
1830
1836
1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Henry County are kept, see the Henry County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Patrick Henry.JPG

Henry County is named for Patrick Henry who was an orator and statesman of the Revolutionary War period.

Parent County

  • 1825--Henry County was created 13 January 1825 from Fulton County. County seat:Cambridge [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Published Records


Online Gravestone Transcriptions

  • Find A Grave.com has burial information for nearly approximately 75 Henry County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.


Cemetery Gazetters

  • Epodunk has a list of Henry County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.

Individual Cemeteries

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190040,049
191041,7364.2%
192045,1628.2%
193043,851−2.9%
194043,798−0.1%
195046,4926.2%
196049,3176.1%
197053,2177.9%
198057,9688.9%
199051,159−11.7%
200051,020−0.3%
201050,486−1.0%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Church Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research. Many libraries( WorldCat) and the Family History Library hold abstracts of church records for Henry County. Learn more about how to search WorldCat and the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • 1857–1887 Gifford, B.R. Clergyman's private register. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1980. FHL film 1290170 Item 2
  • The History of Henry County. Kett, H.F., Chicago: 1877. Free digital copy. Internet Archive. FHL Film 934986 Item 2 Many church histories are found in the town histories beginning on page 530. Churches not included in the town histories are listed beginning on page 541.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Henry County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Henry County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Henry County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog and FamilySearch Catalog–maps. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Online Resources

Local Histories

  • The History of Henry County, Illinois: Its Tax-payers and Voters: Containing also a Biographical Directory, a Condensed History of the State, Map of the County, a Business Directory, an Abstract of Every-day Laws, War Record of Henry County, Officers of Societies, Lodges, etc., etc.. Chicago: H.F. Kett & Co., 1877. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive; Internet Archive.
  • Kiner, Henry L. History of Henry County, Illinois. Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1910. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • Portrait and Biographical Album of Henry County, Illinois: Containing Full-page Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County, Together with Portraits and Biographies of All the Governors of Illinois, and of the Presidents of the United States: Also Containing a History of the County, from Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time. Chicago: Biographical Pub. Co., 1885. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Ilhenry.jpg

Military

General

  • 1860–1975 Military Discharge Record Index IRAD–WIU

Civil War

Civil War service men from Henry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Henry County.

- 1st Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company D.
- 9th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies B, C, and H.
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 19th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 37th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 42nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 57th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 57th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and H.
- 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Scotch Regiment), Company D.
- 83rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 112th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, C, D, G, H, I, and K.
- 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and F.
- 132nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G.
- 134th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H.
- 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K.
- 148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
  • 1862–1865 Civil War bounty order registers IRAD–WIU

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

Online Resources

Newspapers and Obituaries

Poor House Records

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Henry County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • 1860–1926 Probate records, and widows relinquishment records for Henry County probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Henry County, and select the record type you are interested in.

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Henry County probates may be found in the Illinois, Henry – Probate topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Henry County are kept, see the Henry County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Henry County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Henry County.

Public Libraries

Annawan-Alba Twp. Library
200 North Meadow Lane, Suite 2
Annawan, IL 61234
Tel: 309-935-6483
Fax: 309-935-6483

Atkinson Public Library District
109 South State Street
Atkinson, IL 61235
Tel: 309-936-7606

Cambridge Public Library District
212 West Center Street
Cambridge, IL 61238
Tel: 309-937-2233
Fax: 309-937-2873

Clover Library District
440 North Division Street
Woodhull, IL 61490
Tel: 309-334-2680
Fax: 309-334-2945
Email: wi_wood@winco.net

Galva Public Library District
120 N.W. Third Avenue
Galva, IL 61434
Tel: 309-932-2180
Fax: 309-932-2280

Geneseo Public Library District
218 South State Street
Geneseo, IL 61254
Tel: 309-944-6452
Fax: 309-944-6721
Email: gpld@geneseo.lib.il.us

Kewanee Public Library District
102 S. Tremont St.
Kewanee, IL 61443
Tel: 309-852-4505

Colona Public Library
911 1st Street
Colona, IL 61241
Tel: 309-792-0548
Fax: 309-792-2143
Email: contact@colonalibrary.com

Western District Library
1111 4th Street
Orion, IL 61273
Tel: 309-526-8375

York Twp. Public Library
1005 West Main Street
Thomson, IL 61258
Tel: 815-259-2480
Fax: 815-259-2480
Email: thomsonlib@grics.net

Social Groups Online

Societies

Galva Historical Society
P.O. Box 24
Galva, IL 61434

Henry County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 346
Kewanee, IL 61443
Email: steven.morrison@comcast.net

Meetings are held at the Kewanee Public Library.

Henry County Historical Society
P.O. Box 48
Bishop Hill, IL 61419
Tel: 309-927-3528

Kewanee Historical Society
211 N. Chestnut Street
Kewanee, IL 61443
Tel: 309-854-4701
Email: kewaneehistory@kewanee.com

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Henry County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Henry County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

The website of the Henry County Clerk/Recorder explains how to order birth, marriage, civil union, and death records. Downloadable Vital Records Forms.

Births

Copies of Original Birth Records

Marriages

Copies of original Marriage Records

Online Resources

Deaths

Copies of original Death Records

Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Henry County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Henry – Vital Records and the Illinois, Henry – Vital Records - indexes topic page topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 194. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 21,613 times.