Henry County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Henry County

Guide to Henry County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Henry County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Henry County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Mount Pleasant
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1836--Henry County was created 7 December 1836 from Des Moines County. County seat:   Mount Pleasant [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Des Moines • Jefferson • Lee • Louisa • Van Buren • Van Buren

Henry CountyDes Moines CountyLee CountyVan Buren CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyLouisa CountyMuscatine CountyJohnson CountyIowa CountyKeokuk CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyClark CountyScotland CountyKnox CountyHancock CountyMcDonough CountyHenderson CountyMercer CountyRock Island CountyIAHenry.JPG

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Salem, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Henry County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Henry County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Henry County, Iowa:


- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company F
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies D, F and I
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B, C, H and J
- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A and H
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company E
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company F
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company J
:- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
:- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Henry County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

*NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Burlington newspapers dating back to the 1840's that may have included Henry County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Henry - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Henry County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "henry county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "henry county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "henry county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Henry County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Henry County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Henry County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Henry County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Henry County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:41.
  • This page has been accessed 6,671 times.