Henry County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Henry County
Guide to Henry County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Henry County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 13, 1834 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Clinton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Henry County Courthouse Main & Franklin Sts; 100 W Franklin Clinton, MO 64735-2199 Phone: 660.885.6963 Henry County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1830
and military discharge records; County Clerk has divorce
and court recorders; Associate Circuit Court has probate
records; County Museum has birth and burial records[1]
History
Parent County
1834--Henry County was created 13 December 1834from Lafayette County. County seat: Clinton. [2] Henry County was originally named Rives County. It was renamed Henry County in 1841.
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Henry County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
Catholic
St. Ludgers, Germantown
- 1832-1876 - St. Ludgers, Germantown, Baptism Index 1832-1876. Batch C511791 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1849-1876 - St. Ludgers, Germantown, Marriage Index 1849-1876. Batch M511791 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Immaculate Conception, Montrose
- 1858-1876 - Immaculate Conception, Montrose, Baptism Index 1858-1876. Batch C511961 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Henry County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Missouri Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Henry County, Missouri (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Map of Henry County townships (Histopolis)
The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Henry County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Henry County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Henry County, Missouri Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Sedalia newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that sometimes included Henry County residents.
Probate
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office.
Births
Marriages
- 1835-1867 - Henry County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1835-1867. Batch M515141 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1867-1881 - Henry County Marriage Books B and C Index 1867-1881. Batch M515142 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881-1885 - Henry County Marriage Books D and E Index 1881-1885. Batch M515143 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henry County, Missouri. Page 400 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 June 2013, at 15:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,398 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
