Hereford Cathedral, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Hereford Cathedral, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hereford Cathedral, Herefordshire
Hereford Cathedral.jpg
Hereford Cathedral
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hereford City
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEREFORD, an ancient city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, of which it is the chief town, 135 miles(W. N. W.) from London; containing, exclusively the townships of Lower Bullingham and Grafton, in the parish of St. Martin, hundred of Webtree.

The city comprises the ecclesiastical churches of All Saints, St Martin's, St John the Baptist, St Nicholas, St Owen, and St Peter. The chapel of All Saints which also was comprised of a separate chapelry in the township of  Grafton by 1867 was consolidated with that of St Martin's parish. The Cathedral church of St Mary's and St Ethelbert is an ancient structure. St Martin's church, which was situated on the south bank of the river, near the bridge, was destroyed during the parliamentary war. The present church was consecrated in October 1845. The chapel of St John the Baptist's comprised the west nave of (and was built-in and a portion of) the cathedral, and was appropriated as a church by 1638 for this ancient parish till the accidental fall of its (the Cathedral's) tower, in 1786. As of 1848, the north transept was instead used for worship purposes.

The church of St Nicholas was constructed by at least the year 1556.

The church of St Owen's is a rectory by 1628, and was united to the vicarage and church of St Peter's (1556). St Owen's was situated without the walls of the city, was destroyed during the parliamentary war. On its site, a neat school-house, which is also used as a chapel of ease, was erected in the 1840's. The church of St Peter, founded in 1070, was repaired and partly rebuilt in 1793.

There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Some online data content from several other church registers of chapels all within the boundary of Hereford Cathedral exists at one or more of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years (but none for Hereford Cathedral proper, at this time):

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
HEREFORD CATHEDRAL or ST ETHELBERT & ST MARY'S (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None


None

None

None


HEREFORD ALL SAINTS (1639) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1639-1858

1639-1850

None


HEREFORD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1885) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS



None


HEREFORD ST JAMES Chapelry (1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1870-1882

1870-1895

None


HEREFORD ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (by 1638) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1638-1860

1638-1836

None


HEREFORD ST MARTIN (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1559-1884

1559-1641; 1671-1895

None


HEREFORD ST NICHOLAS (1556) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1556-1893
None
1557-1884
None
None


HEREFORD ST OWEN (1626) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1626-1875

1626-1812

None


HEREFORD ST PETER (1556) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1579;1629-1883

1556-1885

None


HEREFORD The VINEYARD (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hereford Cathedral or St Ethelbert and St Mary's Cathedral and comprising the whole ancient parish boundary of Hereford, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Hereford Cathedral page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Cathedral Archives and Library location and contact information is as follows:

Hereford Cathedral 5 College Cloisters Cathedral Close Hereford, HR1 2NG
Tel.: 01432 374200 E-mail: office@herefordcathedral.org
The Cathedral Archives has the following registers and records available for the Cathedral of St Ethelbert and St Mary's and St John's Chapel:

  • Baptisms 1813–1916 only
  • Marriages 1686–1754
  • Burials 1813 to date
  • Burials database 1685-1813 is available reconstructed from burial payments
  • Marriage bonds and allegations 1605–1942
  • St John's Chapel bapts & marriages 1604 to date; burials 1604 - 1919


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288820.

Census records

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Hereford

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 482-491. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 February 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,213 times.