Hereford the Vineyard, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Hereford the Vineyard, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hereford the Vineyard, Herefordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grimsworth
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hereford the Vineyard is an extra parochial place and neighbours Hampton Bishop, Herefordshire Hereford St Owen, Herefordshire and Upper and Lower Bullinghope with Grafton, Herefordshire parishes

The area was a civil parish from 1858- 1932 A Vision of Britain Administrative Units

The cathedral city of Hereford is described at Hereford Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Some online data content from the cathedral and church registers of Hereford Cathedral and its several churches exists at one or more of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
HEREFORD CATHEDRAL or ST ETHELBERT & ST MARY'S (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

None

None

None


HEREFORD ALL SAINTS (1639) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1639-1858

1639-1850

None


HEREFORD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1885) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS



None


HEREFORD ST JAMES Chapelry (1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1870-1882

1870-1895

None


HEREFORD ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (by 1638) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1638-1860

1638-1836

None


HEREFORD ST MARTIN (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1559-1884

1559-1641; 1671-1895

None


HEREFORD ST NICHOLAS (1556) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1556-1893
None
1557-1884
None
None


HEREFORD ST OWEN (1626) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1626-1875

1626-1812

None


HEREFORD ST PETER (1556) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1579;1629-1883

1556-1885

None


HEREFORD The VINEYARD (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hereford Cathedral or St Ethelbert and St Mary's Cathedral and comprising the whole ancient parish boundary of Hereford, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Hereford Cathedral page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


|}

Census records

Census returns for Hereford 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Hereford/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 December 2014, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 860 times.