Hernando County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Hernando County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Hernando County


Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Hernando County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Hernando County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 24, 1843
County Seat Brooksville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Hernando County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Hernando County Courthouse
 20 N Main St;
Brooksville FL 34601
Phone: 352.754.4201

Name changed to Benton 6 Mar 1844.
Name changed back to Hernando 24 Dec 1850.
Clerk County Court has marriage records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate, court
and land records from 1877. [1]

History

Parent County

1843--Hernando County was created 24 February 1843 from Alachua County. The name changed to Benton 6 March 1844 and was renamed Hernando 24 December 1850.
County seat: Brooksville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1877 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Hernando County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

The 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture and mortality.

1867 Florida State Population Census  First Census to enumerate Black Heads of Household

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hernando County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flhernando.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hernando County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Hernando County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hernando County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Refrences

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hernando County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:11.
  • This page has been accessed 7,289 times.