Hertford All Saints with St John, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Hertford All Saints with St John, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hertford All Saints with St John, Hertfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hertford; Hertford Borough
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hertford PLU
Registration District Hertford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hertford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hertford, is a town, three parishes, a sub-district, a district, and a hundred, in Hertfordshire. The tree parishes taking designation from Hertford All Saints, St. Andrew, and St. John. The town is on the river Lea, and at a meeting point of railways, it is 1 3/4 of a mile WSW of Ware, 7 miles ENE of Hatfield. All Saints church is ancient, St Andrew's church was erected in the 11th or 12th century, Holy Trinity church was erected in 1864. The Roman Catholic chapel was erected in 1859; there are chapels also for Independents, Baptists, Quakers, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hertford All Saints with St John, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
Hertford All Saints with St John, Hertfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1871-1891
1837-1881

FMP 1559-1779, 1813-1891 1559-1779, 1813-1891 1560-1911 1560-1911 1559-1891 1559-1891
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1559-1779, 1813-1875 1559-1881
JOIN
1560-1837

NBI

1800-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288831.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hertford All Saints on GENUKI

Hertford St John on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, ] 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  4. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  6. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 15:47.
  • This page has been accessed 914 times.