Hertfordshire Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Parish Registers

Images of Hertfordshire's parish registers are available online at findmypast.

Baptisms

275,730 Hertfordshire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

Courtesy of Hertfordshire County Council:

132 Hertfordshire parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[2]

49 Hertfordshire parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[3]

66,597 Hertfordshire entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

Burials

Burials from 173 Hertfordshire places (137,063 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[5]

Courtesy of Hertfordshire County Council:

Marriage Licences

  • 1538-1922 - Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922) at Hertfordshire County Council website - free. "The marriage licence index is for surviving bonds and allegations in the Diocesan records held at Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies. It has been transferred to Hertfordshire Names Online from a combination of Mr T F Allen’s typescript index, transcripts previously published in the Hertfordshire Genealogist and original documents not included in either."
  • 1583-1715 - Hertfordshire Genealogist and Antiquary.3 vols. 1895-1898. by William Brigg includes calendars for Archdeaconry of St. Albans (1583-1715) and Archdeaconry of Huntingdon, Hitchin Division (1610-1649). Digitised by FamilySearch: Vol. 1 | Vol. 2 | Vol. 3.

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 811 times.