Hesketh with Becconsall, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Hesketh with Becconsall is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created by 1745, lying within the boundaries of Croston, Lancashire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Hesketh Bank and Becconsall.
Hesketh Bank is a small agricultural village in Lancashire. It lies to the north-east of the town of Southport on the Irish Sea estuary of the River Ribble. The area falls under West Lancashire Borough Council for administrative purposes, and Hesketh-with-Becconsall Parish Council for parochial matters.
Becconsall Old Church was hit by bomb shrapnel during World War II, All Saints Church on Station Road replaced the old church.
"HESKETH, with Becconsall, a parish, in the union of Ormskirk, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 11 miles north by east of Ormskirk. The church, erected in 1745, and generally called Becconsall chapel, stands one mile below Hesketh Bank; it became the parish church in 1821, when an act was passed separating Hesketh and Becconsall from Croston, and forming them into a distinct parish.
The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship."
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|HESKETH WITH BECCONSALL PARISH (1745) Indexes|
Other important considerations:
Prior to the year 1821 Hesketh with Becconsall served as a chapelry only (a small subdivision of the parish of Croston). It became a full-fledged parish by act of Parliament in 1821. Searches for ancestry prior to this year, must include searches in the Hesketh with Becconsall Chapelry registers which began in 1745, and Croston parish registers and those of its attached chapelries. The baptisms, marriages and burials for Croston Parish and its smaller chapelries are online for the following range of years:
|CROSTON ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS PARISH (1538) Indexes|
|BRETHERTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1819) Indexes|
|MAWDESLEY Chapelry (1840) Indexes|
|TARLETON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1719) Indexes|
While FamilySearch has microfilmed the original Hesketh with Becconsall parish registers of baptisms, marriages and burials from 1821, these have not been completely transcribed and published online with the exception of the baptisms (see above). However, the Parish of Croston which formerly was, prior to 1821 the mother or ancient parish, has been transcribed, indexed and published online on the web site per the above chart.
[Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection]
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306912. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 491-497. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51027 Date accessed: 01 July 2010.
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:47.
- This page has been accessed 316 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More