Heswall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Heswall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heswall, Cheshire
Heswall St Peter Cheshire contributor Sue Adair.jpg
Heswall St Peter Cheshire contributor Sue Adair
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HESWALL, a parish, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester; containing the township of Gayton,it is 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Great Neston.[1]

Heswall St Peter an ancient parish known as Heswall cum Oldfield formerly in Cheshire and now part of the administrative county of Merseyside since 1974. It includes Gayton, Heswall with Oldfield and Oldfield.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church Records

Heswall St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Heswall St Peter Parish (1547) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1868-1878, 1892-1900


CPR 1559-1871
1547-1871
1559-1871
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1547-1923
  NONE
1559-1911
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1900   NONE
1599-1836
  NONE
1599-1900
  NONE
JOIN
1539-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Heswall, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish for the townships of Gayton and Heswall. Registers of Baptisms 1599–1953, Marriages 1539–1963 and Burials 1558–1946 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P129/1/1-3, P129/2/1-5, P129/3/1-3, P129/4/1-2.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1539-1925. Banns, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1539-1923. Burials, 1539-1880. BRITISH 2106557 Items 10 - 21
Burials, 1880-1911. BRITISH 2106558 Item 1

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Some records in Latin. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 108.

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1587, 1599, 1601, 1604, 1608, 1622, 1636, 1638, 1666, 1668-1670, 1672, 1674-1677, 1679-1682, 1684-1685, 1690-1693, 1695, 1698-1704, 1706-1739, 1741-1803, 1805-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1837-1868. BRITISH 1655829 Item 3
Baptisms, burials, 1868-1878, 1892-1900. Burials, 1863-1867. BRITISH 1655830 Item 1

The registers of baptisms, marriages, and burials in the parish of Heswall, in the county and diocese of Chester, from their commencement to the year 1729 : together with a table of the rectors of Heswall from the year 1300 to the present time, and a terrier of lands, fees, charges, etc., in the year 1733  edited by Thomas Henry May Includes index. The parish registers cover 1559-1729. Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1972. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. FHL BRITISH Film 924706 Item 2 

Online transcripts for the parish are available online at Cheshire Parish Register project

 Heswall, Church of the Good Shepherd (C of E), Telegraph Road. Built in 1901 as a chapel to St. Peter. Registers of Baptisms from 1962 are held at St Peter's (no marriages or burials)..
 Heswall, Nautical Training School (C of E). A chapel attached to St Peter, built in 1915 and closed in 1956. Registers of Baptisms 1937–1956 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (no baptisms or burials).

Non Conformist Churches
  • Heswall, Our Lady and St. John (Roman Catholic), Telegraph Road. Built in 1919.
  • Heswall, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers). Founded 1939.
  • Heswall, Centenary Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Telegraph Road. Built in 1891 (replacing an earlier building in Gayton). Registers of baptisms 1859–1949 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm of original records at the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 134/1. Baptisms, 1859-1949. VAULT BRITISH Film2299421 Item 23 
  • Heswall, United Reformed Church (Presbyterian), Telegraph Road. ReBuilt in 1909.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration District
  •  Wirral (1837–1974)
  •  Birkenhead (1974–98)
  •  Wirral (post 1998)

Poor-Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Heswall cum Oldfield on GENUKI

Heswall St Peter on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 8 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 20:41.
  • This page has been accessed 3,226 times.