Hever, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hever, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hever, Kent
Hever St Peter Kent.jpg
Hever St Peter Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Somerden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEVER (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Somerdon, lathe of Suttonat-Hone, W. division of Kent, 8 miles (S. S. W.) from Seven-Oaks.[1]


Hever St Peter is an Ancient Parish on the River Eden a tributary of the Upper Medway. The village and civil parish includes Four Elms and Markbeech. Hever Kent Wikipedia See also Four Elms Wikipedia and Markbeech Wikipedia

The church is 12th century and within the diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you. It contains the tomb of Sir Thomas Bullen, father of Anne Boleyn and grandfather of Queen Elizabeth the First. More recently it was the place of burial of television presenter Caron Keating. Caron Keating Wikipedia Caron Keating Find a Grave

The church of St Peter, Hever Road, Hever has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 190-202 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The united benefice of Hever Four Elms and Markbeech  supports the three churches in the Ancient Parish.

The concrete church of St Pauls Four Elms was built during the 1880's and the 1851 building of Holy Trinity Markbeech formed the benefice. A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you benefice website See + Kent Churches website

The church of St Paul, Four Elms in the Hever civil parish has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Hever North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship in the civil parish of Hever. Hever St Peter

Mark Beech Holy Trinity see Mark Beech, Kent

Four Elms St Paul

The Congregational Church, Styles Close, Hever has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941 Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hever, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Hever, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1896
1813-1836

FS BTs 1813-1905 1813-1905 1813-1905

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Hever
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

census returns for Hever 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Penshurst Poor Law Union,Kent until 1836

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 497-501. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 21:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,787 times.