Hevingham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Hevingham, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hevingham, Norfolk
St Botolph, Hevingham, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEVINGHAM (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. by E.) from Aylsham. [1]

Hevingham St Botolph is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

Hevingham is a Norfolk village and civil parish situated between the A140 road Norwich to Cromer road and the B1149 road Norwich to Holt road. It is 7 miles (11 km) from the city of Norwich and 4 miles (6.4 km) from the market town of Aylsham.

For local government purposes the civil parish is part of the Broadland District.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hevingham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Hevingham, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1901
1600-1901
1600-1901
FS ATs 1600-1811 1600-1811 1600-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1657-1686, 1736-1901 Undefined 1657-1686, 1736-1900 Undefined 1657-1686, 1736-1900
JOIN
1800-1837

NTA 1800-1901
1800-1900 (Banns); 1800-1901
1802-1901
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 403

Parish registers
Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 3 Baptisms 1648-1736 Marriages 1654-1720 Burials 1654-1738 Item 4 Baptisms and burials 1736-1801 Marriages 1742-1752 Item 5 Baptisms and burials 1801-1812 Item 6 Baptisms 1813-1840 Item 7 Baptisms 1840-1869 Item 8 Marriages and banns 1754-1812 Item 9 Marriages 1813-1836 Item 10 Burials 1823-1861 Item 11 Banns 1823-1861 FHL BRITISH Film 1597077 Items 3-11
Item 28 Baptisms 1869-1901 Item 29 Marriages 1837-1900 Item 30 Burials 1863-1900 Items 31-33 Banns 1861-1900 FHL BRITISH Film 1657180 Items 28-33
Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms and burials 1600-1608, 1628-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1601-1608, 1628-1633, 1665-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526780 Item 5

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of Hevingham, 1724-1872 Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD403/10, 28.

Churchwardens' accounts, 1724-1872; Surveyors' accounts, 1823-1836. FHL BRITISH Film 2149732 Items 12 - 13

Parish chest records, 1809-1850 Norfolk Record Office no.: PD 403/11-19, 21-26

Town books, 1809-1834 (includes overseers' accounts & poor rate assessments) FHL BRITISH Film 1702396 Items 14-19
Town books (cont.), 1834-1836 Overseers' accounts, 1836-1838 Poor rate books, 1838-1850 FHL BRITISH Film 1702397 Items 1-9 See also

England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 497-501. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 02:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,542 times.