Heydon, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Heydon, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heydon, Norfolk
St Peter and St Paul, Heydon, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEYDON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (N. N. E.) from Reepham. [1]


Heydon St Peter and St Paul is an an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The church is noted for the mediaeval wall paintings which were rediscovered in 1970.

The village is listed in the Domesday Book as "High-Down", and was home to a weekly market. Heydon also serves Irmingland parish which is also known as Ermingland.

Erasmus Earle, one of the most noted lawyers of his time, was lord of the manor in the early 17th century. The 19th century lord was William Earle Lytton Bulwer (1799–1877), elder brother of the author Edward Bulwer Lytton. The village is still owned by the Bulwer Long family, one of only around a dozen English villages that are entirely privately owned.

Heydon became Norfolk's first conservation area in 1971 and has won its Best Kept Village on two occasions. The village retains an old-fashioned character with no new buildings having been added since the Queen Victoria commemorative well was built in 1887.

The village is home to one pub, the Earle's Arms, and there is an Elizabethan hall, built in 1582 by Henry Dynne and extended in the late 18th and early 19th century.

Heydon, Norfolk, is an English village in the county of Norfolk and district of Broadland.

Heydon is about five miles north of Reepham, and has no through road, making it isolated except from the south. It consists of a large green, surrounded by picturesque houses and cottages.

Heydon is often used in television and film productions. The village was used as the setting for the Anglia Television soap opera Weaver's Green. Films partly shot in the village include The Go Between (1970), Riders (1993), Hitler's Britain (2002), Vanity Fair, The Woman in White, The Moonstone, The Peppermint Pig, and A Cock and Bull Story (2005).

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Heydon, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Heydon, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1599-1880
1599-1837
1600-1901
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1911 Undefined 1538-1907 Undefined 1538-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

NTA 1698-1911


TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office Parish Records of Heydon with Irmingland reference PD 435

Parish registers of Heydon, 1538-1911 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD 435/1-7, 43.
Early records in Latin.

Although Heydon and Irmingland were separate parishes, Irmlingland had no church, and the same rector, church and register served both parishes.

From 1785 to 1830, baptisms included the maiden name of the mother.

Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1538-1606, baptisms, 1607-1689, marriages, 1607-1694, burials, 1608-1689, 1607-1611, 1689-1693, baptisms, 1690-1698, marriages, 1695-1697, burials, 1695-1698; Baptisms, 1698-1784, marriages, 1698-1752, burials, 1698-1785; Baptisms and burials, 1785-1812; Baptisms, 1813-1911; Marriages and banns, 1755-1812, banns, 1755-1817, 1823; Marriages, 1813-1837; Banns, 1823-1904; Burials, 1814-1853. FHL BRITISH Film 2149111 Items 9 - 16
Burials (contd.), 1851-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2149112 Item 1

Archdeacons transcripts Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms, burials and marriages 1599-1611, 1623-1633, 1664-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526780 Item 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of Heydon and Irmingland, 1611-1861 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD 435/19-21, 26-27.

Although Heydon and Irmingland were separate parishes, Irmlingland had no church, and the same rector, church and register served both parishes.

Rates, which are taxes, are determined by property valuation, therefore church and poor rates list owners and occupiers of properties. In some cases, they are listed alphabetically by surname.

Parish chest materials which are identified in these records as chiefly churchwardens' accounts and/or vestry minutes, can contain a variety of records including accounts, minutes, lists of parish officers, church and/or poor rates, payments made to the poor, lists of charities, donors to special collections, terriers (identification of parish boundaries and properties), description of church silver or plate, copies of wills and various other records pertaining to the history and life of the parish.

Churchwardens' accounts and rates, 1611-1688, 1807-1861; Vestry minutes, 1850-1861; Overseers' accounts and rates, 1670-1697, 1724-1758. FHL BRITISH Film 2149112 Items 2 - 6

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp501-505. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,616 times.