Heywood St James, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Heywood St James, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heywood St James, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Heywood (St James) was one of two chapels serving the township of Heywood; it was built as a chapel of ease in the year 1838 and lay within the civil parish boundary of Bury. The town stands on the Rochdale canal, and on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, near the river Roch. The modern parish is in the Heywood and Middleton Deanery of the diocese of Manchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Heywood St James chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HEYWOOD ST JAMES Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1838-1914 1841-1930 1838-1969
LBMD None 1841-1925 None
BURY ST MARY(ancient parish containing HEYWOOD ST JAMES Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Heywood St James and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.


For ealier records search Heywood, Lancashire .

Parish registers for St. James' Church, Heywood, 1838-1980 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Heywood is a chapelry in Bury parish. St. James' Church was created from the original chapelry in 1720.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L170/1/1/1-7, L170/1/2/1-9, L170/1/3/1-3, L170/1/4.

Content
Film
Inventory of church records. Baptisms, Apr. 1838-Sep. 1914.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113107
Baptisms, Sep. 1914-Mar. 1976.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2113108
Marriages, Apr. 1841-Mar. 1908.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113109
Marriages, Apr. 1908-Oct. 1949.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113110
Marriages, Oct. 1949-1977.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2113111
Burials, 1838-1969. Funeral services, 1969-1980.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113112


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306923.


Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,829 times.