Hickling, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Hickling, Nottinghamshire
Hickling St Luke Nottinghamshire.jpg
Hickling St Luke Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1646
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


HICKLING (St. Luke), a parish, in the union, and S. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Melton-Mowbray. This parish is situated within two miles of the road from Melton-Mowbray to Nottingham. The Nottingham and Grantham canal passes close to the village. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Hickling St Luke is an Ancient parish and part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Leicestershire with neighbours Long Clawson, Leicestershire and Nether Broughton, Leicestershire.

The church of St Luke has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Hickling Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hickling, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HICKLING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1646-1837

Hickling St Luke

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1646-2010 Marriages 1646-1978 Burials 1646-1975 Bishop's Transcripts 1621-1841
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hickling

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Military

War Memorial - Hickling Village. A transcription of the marble plaque of Memorial Inscriptions for W.W.1 and 2, on the outside wall of the village Hall/School, giving surname and christian names. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, page 58, FHAL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hicklinf in GENUKI

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 01:00.
  • This page has been accessed 906 times.