High Bickington, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to High Bickington, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|High Bickington, Devon|
|Hundred||North Taunton with Winkleigh|
|Poor Law Union||Torrington|
|Parish registers: 1707|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BICKINGTON, HIGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Torrington, hundred of North Tawton with Winkley, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 7¼ miles (E. by N.) from Torrington.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
High Bickington, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|High Bickington, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1597-1598, 1610-1644, 1670-1837||
- Bible Christian Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241323.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Nigh Bickington on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 01:47.
- This page has been accessed 3,498 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News