High Elswick St Paul, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to High Elswick St Paul, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

High Elswick St Paul, Northumberland
Former St Paul's Church, Elswick Northumberland.jpg
Former St Paul's Church, Elswick Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Newcastle upon Tyne PLU
Registration District Newcastle upon Tyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1872
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELSWICK, a township, in the parish of St. John The Baptist, Newcastle, union of Newcastle, W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland. A church district named St. Paul's, High Elswick, was endowed in 1846. High Elswick St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1846 from Newcastle upon Tyne St John Ecclesiastical Parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Elswick, St Paul: Records of baptisms 1885-1969 and marriages 1859-1958 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Marriages for the same period and baptisms 1855-1872 and 1905-1925 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Elswick, St Paul (Arthurs Hill) (microfiche TN85) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department. For earlier records see Newcastle, St John St John,Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438887.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle Upon Tyne Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:27.
  • This page has been accessed 930 times.