High Hoyland, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png High Hoyland

Guide to High Hoyland, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

High Hoyland, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Penistone PLU
Registration District Huddersfield; Wortley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1720
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOYLAND, HIGH (All Saints), a parish, in the wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York, 8 miles (S. S. W.) from Wakefield; containing, with the township of West Clayton, and part of the township of Cumberworth, 2757 inhabitants, of whom 272 are in the township of High Hoyland. A district church has [also] been erected at Scisset. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

High Hoyland, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
HIGH HOYLAND PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1720-1812 1720-1812 1720-1812 1720-1812 1720-1812 1720-1812
FS 1731-1855

1731-1847

1752-1772

JOIN None

1813-1837

None


List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1740 (Nether Hoyland), 1869 (Swaine Hoyland), and 1916 (St. Andrew Hoyland).


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464274.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,990 times.