High Legh, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png High Legh

Guide to High Legh, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

High Legh St John Cheshire contributor Whatlep.jpg

Contents

Parish History

LEGH (HIGH), is a village and a township-chapely in Rostherne parish, Cheshire. The village stands 3¼ miles S of Heatley and Warburton railway station, and 5 miles N W of Knutsford; it is a scattered place; and has a post office under Knutsford. The church was built in 1815; superseded a previous edifice of 1404.[1]

High Legh St John, Cheshire,was created in 1815 as a chapel to Rostherne and became a parish in 1817.

High Legh St Mary's chapel was built around 1581 as a chapel of ease to High Legh East Hall. High Legh became a separate parish in 1817.

High Legh is the site of an early Methodist chapel in Northwood Lane, with Wesleyan connections. 

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

High Legh parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
High Legh St John Parish (1813) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's

1813-1909

  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1820-1902
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for High Legh, 1815-1956 High Legh is a chapelry in Rostherne parish.Cheshire Record Office reference: P197/1/1-2.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1815-1956. BRITISH 2105710 Items 11 - 12

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available FamilySearch Historical Records( formerly Record Search)

Bishop's transcripts for High Legh, 1819-1902 High Legh is a chapelry in the parish of Rostherne.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 110

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop’s Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1819-1879, 1883-1902. BRITISH 1647431 Item 5

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent Methodist Chapel

Non-Conformist Records:

Warrington Library Document Reference WMS 2249
High Legh Independent Methodist church records
Description Miscellaneous papers including history of the church (1783-1983) and papers relating to the Okell family
Extent 1 bundle

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  • Bucklow (1898–1974)
  • Macclesfield (1974–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 8 March 2013

Bolton, Humphrey (January 2007), High Legh, Macclesfield District, Cheshire: History, Geograph, http://www.geograph.org.uk/article/High-Legh---Macclesfield-District---Cheshire

Thornber, Craig, A Scrapbook of Cheshire Antiquities: Leigh and Legh of High Legh: East Hall and its Chapel, http://www.thornber.net/cheshire/htmlfiles/legh.html,

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 239, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,202 times.