Highgate, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Highgate, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Highgate, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division); Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Edmonton; St Pancras PLU
Registration District Edmonton; St Pancras
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

HIGHGATE, a town and chapelry, partly in the parishes of St. Pancras and Islington, but chiefly in that of Hornsey, union of Edmonton, partly in the Holborn, but chiefly in the Finsbury, division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4 miles north of London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Highgate Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1633
1633
1633
Images
1633-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1833-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1883 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1633-1848 BritishOrigins[6] 1635-1768 FindMyPast[7] 1635-1837 FindMyPast[8]
Unknown FindMyPast[9] Pre-1754,
1833-1837
BritishOrigins[10] 1700-1903 BritishOrigins[11]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438797.

Cemetery Records

The Highgate Cemetery, belonging to the London Cemetery Company, and situated on that side of the hill facing London, was consecrated by the Bishop of London on the 20th May, 1839.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Highgate on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael, Highgate in Camden Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Highgate St Michael in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Highgate St Michael in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Highgate St Michael in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  7. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  8. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  9. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012. Described as Highgate St Michael.
  10. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  11. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 4,446 times.