Highland County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Highland County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Highland County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Highland County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Highland County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Highland County Courthouse
105 N. High Street
Hillsboro, Ohio 45133
Highland County Website
United Statesgo to Ohio go to Highland County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1805
1868
1804
1809
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Adams, Clermont, and Ross Counties 18 February 1805.[1]
  • County Seat: Hillsboro



Neighboring Counties

Clinton County  • Brown County  • Adams County  • Pike County  • Ross County  • Fayette County


Highland CountyAdams CountyScioto CountyPike CountyRoss CountyFayette CountyClermont CountyCampbell CountyPendleton CountyMason CountyLewis CountyRobertson CountyCarter CountyFleming CountyGreenup CountyHarrison CountyBracken CountyHamilton CountyWarren CountyClinton CountyPickaway CountyBrown CountyOHHighland.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

Genealogy Trails

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

The History of the Chillicothe Presbytery, From its Organization in 1799-1889

Churches of Highland County, Ohio

Topographic Map Church Features in Highland County, Ohio

Highland County, Ohio Churches

Many Church Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Highland County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

  • Many Court Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
  • Many Guardianship Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Highland County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Klise, J.W., State Centennial History of Highland County, Ohio, (Owensboro, Kentucky: Cook and McDowell Publications, 1980). FHL book 977.1845 H2k
  • Scott, Daniel, A History of the Early Settlement of Highland County, Ohio, (The Gazette, 1890). Digital copy at Google Books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Highland County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohhighland.jpg

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Highland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Highland County.
- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company C, also known as "Pope's Escort" and "Shield's Body Guard", and Company H, which had many men from Hillsboro

-Highland County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
-U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $

-Many Military Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Many Naturalization and Citizenship Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Newspapers

Highland County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form


Historic Newspapers by Name

Search for newspapers by town or county name in these directories.

Many Newspapers for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Obituaries

  • Many Obituaries for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
  • Transcribed Obituaries for Highland county at Genealogy Trails

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Highland County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Highland County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • various years - community contributed wills Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
  • Many Probates for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Highland County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Highland County Courthouse
114 Governor Foraker Place
Hillsboro, OH 45133
Phone: 937.393.1981

Probate Court has marriage and death records 1867-1909,
birth records to 1905 and probate records; County Health
Department has birth, marriage and death records from 1909;
Clerk Court has divorce and court recordsc from 1832,
some natturalization and adoption records; County Recorder
has land records[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Highland County, Ohio is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

  • Many Tax Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Highland County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Highland County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Highland County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Highland County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

  • Many Vital Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
  • 1908-1932, 1938-1944, 1959-2002 - Ohio Deaths at Ancestry.com $
  • various years - community contributed death records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
  • various years - community contributed death records Courtesy OhioGenWeb

Original Death Records on Microfilm

  • Many Vital Records for Highland County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Highland County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:24.
  • This page has been accessed 21,227 times.