Highnam, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Highnam, Gloucestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Highnam, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Highnam, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Gloucester PLU
Registration District Gloucester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851; For more records see Lassington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HIGHNAM, a hamlet, in the parish of Churcham,union of Westbury-on-Severn, Lower division of the hundred of Dudstone and King's-Barton, union, and E. division of the county, of Gloucester, 2¼ miles(N. W. by W.) from the city of Gloucester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Highnam, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Highnam, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1852-1938 1852-1938

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288769.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 509-512. Date accessed: 11 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 18:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,537 times.