Hillfarrance, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Hillfarrance, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Taunton and Taunton-Dean
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1701
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HILL-FARRANCE (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Wellington, hundred of Taunton and Taunton-Dean, W. division of Somerset, 4¼ miles (W.) from Taunton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hillfarrance, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[9]
HILLFARRANCE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1701-1812

FREG 1602-1623, 1717-1881
1602-1623, 1701-1911
1602-1623, 1752-1913
JOIN
1701-1812

MARR
1615-1754

NBI

1602-1887
PALL
1790-1812

SOPC
1832-1953
1813-1950
WEST 1717-1860
1701-1860
1752-1860

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 21 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  9. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 July 2014, at 13:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,456 times.