Hillsborough County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Hillsborough County

Guide to Hillsborough County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Hillsborough County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Hillsborough County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 25, 1834
County Seat Tampa
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Hillsborough County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Courthouse and Confederate Memorial - Hillsborough County, Florida

Hillsborough County Courthouse
419 N Pierce Street
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: 813.276.8100

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and land records.
Hillsborough County has a number
of addresses for their Clerks of the Circuit Court[1]

Clerk of Circuit Court
George E. Edgecomb Courthouse
800 Twiggs Street
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Clerk of Circuit Court
CCC Accounting
419 Pierce
Room 130
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Clerk of Circuit Court
Tax Deeds
George E. Edgecomb Courthouse
800 Twiggs Street Room #103
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Clerk of Circuit Court
Marriage License, Recording, Records Library, Passports
419 Pierce
Room 140
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Clerk of Circuit Court
Courthouse Annex
Felony / Circuit Criminal
Room 202
401 N. Jefferson Street
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)
(Public access via Edgecomb Courthouse at 800 E. Twiggs Street)


Clerk of Circuit Court
Annex Tower
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Clerk of Circuit Court
Misdemeanor / County Criminal
7th Floor
Room 752
700 Twiggs Street
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Clerk of Circuit Court
County Center
601 E. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Brandon Office

Clerk of Circuit Court
Brandon Regional Service Center
311 Pauls Drive
Suite 110
Brandon, FL 33511 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)
Maps and Directions



SouthShore Office

Clerk of Circuit Court
SouthShore Regional Service Center
410 30th St. S.E.
Ruskin, FL 33570 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


Plant City Office

Clerk of Circuit Court
Plant City Courthouse
302 North Michigan Avenue
Plant City, FL 33563 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


North Tampa

Clerk of Circuit Court
(Traffic Court ONLY after July 31,2009) 9309 N. FLorida Avenue Suite 103
Tampa, FL 33612 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

History

A brief history of Hillsborough County is given on this website, along with links to other sources.

Parent County

1834--Hillsborough County was created 25 January 1834 from Alachua County. County seat: Tampa [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Tampa is one of the larger communities in Hillsborough.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries and Funeral Homes

The Florida Genealogical Society of Tampa has transcribed the contents of its 8-volume cemetery survey of Hillsborough County (originally published between 1986 and 1990) into the Find A Grave cemetery database website.

Hillsborough County Florida Cemeteries.  This site has information from 8 volumes published by the Florida Genealogical Society as well as information on cemetery information added since the publication of these volumes.

Some Hillsborough County Funeral Home records have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and are available for viewing at the Salt Lake City facility or one of their affiliated Family History Centers.  They are listed in the Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp FamilySearch Catalog through the Keyword Search, with the name of the Funeral Home,  These records are listed as following:  A P Boza (1929-1965); B Marion Reed (1916-1928), J L Reed and Son (1887-1969); Lord and Fernandez (1925-1969), Stowers (1961-1966), Wells (1918-1939).

Additional funeral home and cemetery records can be found in the Special Collections of the University of South Florida Tampa Library.

Individual cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Hillsborough County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850974
1870796
1880720−9.5%
18905,532668.3%
190015,839186.3%
191037,782138.5%
192051,60836.6%
1930101,16196.0%
1940108,3917.1%
1950124,68115.0%
1960274,970120.5%
1970277,7141.0%
1980271,523−2.2%
1990280,0153.1%
2000303,4478.4%
Est. 2009343,89013.3%

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

There are over 300 Hillsborough Churches listed on this website, with their location indicated

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Tampa

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hillsborough County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flhillsborough.png

Military

Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Hillsborough County:

June 30-July 1, 1862 = Tampa, also known as the Yankee Outrage at Tampa[3]
October 16-18, 1863 = Fort Brooke[4]

Map showing Civil War battles in Florida.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hillsborough County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Hillsborough County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hillsborough County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has been able to film many of the Hillsborough County Judge's Court records, and copies of these films are available in Salt Lake City or in any of its affiliate Family History Centers.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Some Hillsborough County marriage records are available at the University of South Florida Tampa Library's Special Collections department, and some years have been digitized and indexed on their site.

Hillsborough County Vital Records Office:

Vital Statistics Office
13601 North 22nd Street
Tampa, Florida 33613
Telephone: (813) 307-8002

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
(7:30am to 4:30pm)


The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed some of the earlier vital records of the Hillsborough County County Judge and Circuit court which are available for viewing in Salt Lake City or in any of its affiliate Family History Centers.

Birth
Marriage
Death
  • 1899-1921 - Tampa Death Index, Volumes 1-3, 1899-1921. Batches B744824 and B744825 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Societies and Libraries

Public Libraries

The following libraries in Hillsborough County have collections of particular interest to genealogists.

John F. Germany Public Library
900 N. Ashley Dr.
Tampa, Florida 33602-3788
Telephone: (813) 273-3652
The History and Genealogy Department has a large collection with emphasis on Florida, the southeast region, the original thirteen colonies and all other states bordering on the Mississippi River.

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hillsborough County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 June 2012).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 June 2012).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 15,458 times.