Himley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Himley, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Himley, Staffordshire
Himley St Michael Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Seisdon PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HIMLEY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the hundred, of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3¾ miles (W.) from Dudley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Himley St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
HIMLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1665-1875
1671-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1668- 1999 Mar 1670-1999  Bur 1668-1993
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1885 Mar  1664-1837 Bur 1664-1885



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474624.

Poor Law Unions

Seisdon Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Himley/index.html

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 512-514. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  3. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,222 times.