Hindolveston, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Hindolveston, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hindolveston, Norfolk
St George, Hindolveston, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynesford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HINDOLVESTON (St. George), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 12 miles (N. E.) from the town of East Dereham. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Includes or is also known as Hilderston.[2]

Although Hindolveston is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich,Saint George’s parish church was built in the 1932 to replace an earlier church which stood on the edge of the village. The old church had become unusable when the tower collapsed in the August of 1892. The church has a 1930s style and is the work of a local builder called Jonathan Beckett to a design by the Diocesan architect, Herbert Green which had been prepared at the turn of the century. These plans which had been drawn soon after the collapse of the old church were adapted in the 1930s and have produced a church with a mixture of architectural features such as the brick buttresses and the lancet windows. Material was rescued from the old church and has been included in the new one including the old church font with vandalised panels, but not re-cut which show the Crucifixion, Instruments of the Passion and a Holy Trinity symbol. Also salvaged at the time were some brass inscriptions and a fine figure brass for Edward and Margaret Hunt and their 14 children.

Hindolveston has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085.[3] In the great book Hindolveston is recorded by the name Hidolfestuna and Hidolvestuna. It is said to be in the ownership of the Bishop William. The survey also notes a church, twenty cattle, two beehives and forty goats. The name is theorized to come from Anglo-Saxon language Hildwulfes tūn = "farmstead belonging to a man called Sword-wolf". Hindolveston is a Village and civil parish in the North Norfolk District for local government purposes. The Village is 17.5 miles (28.2 km) west south west of Cromer, 20.8 miles (33.5 km) north north west of Norwich and 122 miles (196 km) north east of London. The village lies 8.4 miles (13.5 km) south of the town of Holt.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hindolveston, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Hindolveston, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1693-1901
1723-1901
1722-1901
FS ATs 1710-1812 1710-1812 1710-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1693-1901 Undefined 1693-1902 Undefined 1693-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 678

Parish registers of Hindolveston Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office : PD678/1-12.

General register of baptisms, marriages and burials, 1693-1784 ("in a very dilapidated condition" and not in any order, except that 1693 is on the last page); Baptisms and burials, 1783-1812; Baptisms, 1813-1885; Marriages, 1754-1812, banns, 1754-1812, 1823; Marriages, 1813-1901; Burials, 1813-1864; Banns, 1824-1902; Transcript (typewritten) of first register, 1693-1784. FHL BRITISH Film 2149769 Items 8 - 19
Baptisms, 1886-1901. Burials, 1864-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2299169 Items 7 - 8
Archdeacons transcripts, 1710-1812
Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1710-1719, 1731-1738, 1766-1812 Marriages 1714-1719, 1731-1738, 1771-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526831 Item 13

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of Hindolveston, 1784-1894 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD678/32, 34-42, 45, 58-59.

Rates, which are taxes, are determined by property valuation, therefore church, poor and highway rates generally list owners and occupiers of properties. In some cases, they are listed alphabetically by surname.

Parish chest materials which are identified in these records as churchwardens' accounts and/or vestry minutes, can contain a variety of records including accounts, minutes, lists of parish officers, church and/or poor rates, payments made to the poor, lists of charities, donors to special collections, terriers (identification of parish boundaries and properties), description of church silver or plate, copies of wills and various other records pertaining to the history and life of the parish.

Churchwardens' accounts, 1811-1894, followed by an 1811 copy and explanation of a will of 1615, a list of paupers receiving charity in 1811 and an 1833 bastardy bond for a child of Maria Baker; Overseers' rates, 1784-1828; Overseers' accounts, 1786-1813. Vault BRITISH Film 2149770
Overseers' accounts (contd.), 1825-1836 (the volume for 1813-1825 was too fragile to film), 1825-1836 (another account book); Justices' appointments, 1786-1818 (title board says vestry book); Parish survey, 1811 (lists land ownership and occupation); Surveyors' accounts and rates, 1811-1828, 1830-1837. FHL BRITISH Film 2149771 Items 1 - 7

see also

England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.514-518.Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes" GenUKI
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,288 times.