Hinton Ampner, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hinton Ampner, Hampshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Hinton Ampner

Guide to Hinton Ampner, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hinton Ampner, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fawley
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alresford
Registration District Alresford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1724
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alresford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Parish History

HINTON-AMPNER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Alresford, hundred of Fawley, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4 miles (S. by E.) from Alresford.[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hinton Ampner, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
FS 1561-1876


PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288803.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 514-518. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Described simply as 'Hinton.'
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 18:24.
  • This page has been accessed 4,189 times.