Hints, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Hints, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hints, Staffordshire
Hints St Bartholomew Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lichfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hansacre and Armitage
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HINTS (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, S. division of the hundred of Offlowand of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (W. by S.) from Tamworth. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district may have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district or Cannock Registration Offices and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Hints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
HINTS PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1651-1812
1651-1812
1651-1812
FS 1558-1828
1558-1828

JOIN
1558-1812

PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap  1559-1948 Mar 1559-1937 Bur 1559-2000
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1659-1828 Mar 1659-1828 Bur 1659-1827



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Hints/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 518-521. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,565 times.